A Little About Me & My Brand

2 May

Fashion is one of the few art forms that all of us must participate in every day. Whether you throw on any old thing from the closet, or plan what you wear weeks in advance, you are making a choice about how you want to be perceived by the world. We live in an era that is unlike any other thus far. We have the power of choice more than ever before. For some, it is almost too much choice and can become overwhelming to keep up. For me, that choice is empowering. All that one can do with fashion is amazing. The possibilities of the combinations of textures, patterns, shapes, embellishments and structure give us the power to embody a branch of our personality and visually express it to the rest of the world. The great thing is that you can show a different branch every day, and eventually, with enough digging, the world may find the root of the tree below the wardrobe. As with trees, fashion changes every season. In fashion and in nature, fall and winter are my favorite.

For me, fashion started with a love for old paintings from the Baroque and Rococo period with women wearing beautiful gowns. Old movies from the 1920’s, 30’s, and 40’s intrigued me with how beautifully and intricately they dressed, particularly Pollyanna, Casablanca, and Citizen Kane. I have loved fabric since I can remember. Always running my fingers through different fabric, I was (and am) very particular about the way something should feel.

I didn’t begin to sew until I was 18 and encountered difficulty finding suitable clothing. I was a newlywed and wanted to wear all the great clothing that was out, but at the same time look like a respectable married woman. Unable to find such pieces, I began to create them. Thankfully, my husband had the knowledge of how to turn my talent into a brand. Also being that he is a producer gives my line an all around vibe by having custom made music for each fashion show.

Six years later, I have A. Rozier Design Studio that umbrellas a men’s line, women’s line, and tee shirt line: Elijah Ramon, Areli SInclair, and A.R.T. I take pride in all three. They are all branches of my personality and have grown to be like my children. Each with its own style, vibe, and way of life. One thing they all have in common though is confidence.

Needing technicality behind my passion is what brings me to Orlando, Fl. A few months from receiving my BFA in Fashion Design and Merchandising, my hope is to finish school with the knowledge needed to expand my clothing lines even further.

My true goal, however, lies in giving men and women the same empowerment that fashion gave me: a voice. There is always an alternative to the norm. Coco Chanel said it best: “To be irreplaceable, one must always be different”.

[For alot about me- check out the ‘About Me’ tab at the top of the page next to ‘Home’]

~A. Rozier

Leave a Reply

