My College Review :Final Thoughts:

11 Feb

I have been trying to get around to doing this update blog for over a month now. My last college term has had me so wrapped up since November. I can’t believe it’s over! Wwoooooo.. I can breathe! Stages of life are strange. I never feel like I’m growing up. I remember looking at people who were older than me and not being able to imagine myself at that age. But then becoming that age, I don’t feel like I thought I would. It’s complicated and hard to explain, but I think everyone can agree that you certainly can’t predict what life will throw at you.

I honestly had no plans for college. I was intimidated. I thought that you had to be rich and extremely smart to attend a good school. Funny how someone else’s perception of something can be installed in you without your even realizing it. I am glad I went, but I don’t think college is for everyone. Most people are just working for a grade. They lose sight of why they are there.. or didn’t have good intentions in the first place.. and they get caught up in simply trying to pass. But then what? No one seems to think about what happens next. And the colleges, well mine at least, was only keen on preparing us for hourly, entry level positions with possibilities of working your way up. They never touched on how to start your own business. Yes, we had an entrepreneurship course. But if you didn’t go beyond what was required, you wouldn’t get a real grasp on what it means to run a business.

In my last term, it was the general consensus among my classmates that the last couple classes held the information that they needed the whole time. Being that they had been thrown into the fire in the end left them feeling unprepared and like they could have done better given more time to mull over what the last term was going to be like. I must admit I feel the same. Being that the last term includes doing your final portfolio, which is what you will take with you after college as a canvas of your abilities, there is already pressure and importance attached to the term. Not doing your absolute best feels heart shattering.. especially when you’re out of time. They seemed to feel like the school had held out the good stuff until the end, and just dragged us on with filler classes in the middle. Having such an overflow of requirements thrown at you in the end, especially when proper, thought provoking information was not given in the middle, left most people feeling intimidated about what might come from the real world. There could be several people to blame here. Whether it’s the business side of the school who will bring in anyone who will sign a loan contract, the teachers who don’t care enough to be 100% real with the students, the teachers who don’t know that they’re not being 100% real or accurate (not saying this includes all teachers) or the students who don’t care enough to push themselves further than what is asked from them (this does not include all students). Keep in mind that I am not bashing anyone. I still vouch that I am happy with my personal end results, these are just improvement suggestions, advice, and forewarnings.

Our economy is not in good shape. Corporations who pay minimum wage, source most of their supplies and manufacturing from other countries, and continually run out the small businesses will not put our economy back in good shape. Educating young, willing and able people to start new, small businesses will in fact do our economy the most good. Isn’t that what capitalism is supposed to be all about? But yet and still colleges continue to push the issue of molding us into some sort of ‘workbot’ to fill a slot that you will be in competition with 300 other trained graduates to get. I’m not campaigning against working. I understand the need for steady income. I’m saying that we should be aware of what we are paying tuition for, and to make sure that it gets put to the best possible use, while we are still able to do something we love. Personally, I know my tuition money was well spent. I tried to go above and beyond what was required, to get a full understanding of everything that was brought up and learn the ‘why’ and the ‘how’ behind everything, not just the ‘what’- as was taught. Getting the ‘why’ and ‘how’ allows you to test theories, and come up with new ones. That is the only way we will ever have true innovation and progression. I also was working on my business while I was in school. Putting theories to the test in the real world is one of the best ways to learn.

Since I am being blatant about what is bad, I will also be blatant about what is good. I feel that I should mention a few names of awesome instructors who really went the extra mile for me as a student. Sharon Smith, for her honesty and great advice, Daphne Dalge for being the best at what she does, and her extra advice on sewing, Kate Saccone (who was let go because she didn’t have a masters degree- another issue I won’t get into) for her blatant honesty and all around good leadership, Matthew Mercer for being determined and teaching in a creative fashion, and Laura Cox, just for being a super cool teacher. There are others, but I won’t go into an extensive roll call..

College is a touchy subject. I suppose in the end, it comes down to the student. What you put in is what you will get out. Don’t fall into a trap. Keep your integrity, and remember why you’re there. And remember that you will be on your own once your done. Besides the hands digging in your pockets for loan repayment! So there you have my summed up honest advice as a recent graduate if you are thinking of going to school.

Just a few quotes I found relating to the subject…

My mother said I must always be intolerant of ignorance but understanding of illiteracy. That some people, unable to go to school, were more educated and more intelligent than college professors. – Maya Angelou

College isn’t the place to go for ideas. – Helen Keller

College is a refuge from hasty judgment. – Robert Frost

A liberal-arts education is supposed to provide you with a value system, a standard, a set of ideas, not a job. – Caroline Bird

A man who has never gone to school may steal from a freight car; but if he has a university education, he may steal the whole railroad. – Theodore Roosevelt

If you have a college degree you can be absolutely sure of one thing… you have a college degree. – Author Unknown

A liberal education… frees a man from the prison-house of his class, race, time, place, background, family and even his nation. – Robert Maynard Hutchins

The new appears as a minority point of view, and hence is unpopular. The function of a university is to give it a sanctuary. – Martin H. Fischer

No man should escape our universities without knowing how little he knows. – J. Robert Oppenheimer

Standardization is the fertilizer of college education. A little may be useful, but flowers do not grow in pure manure. – Martin H. Fischer

3 Responses to “My College Review :Final Thoughts:”

  1. Julie Tops February 11, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    It has been a pleasure watching you blossom like a Beautiful flower. Congratulations to you on such a great accomplishment. New challenges are now ahead of you & I believe you are better prepared for. Your dreams are yours and you can make them happen! I am looking forward to seeing you make them reality. Love Ya, Julie

  2. Padam Desai February 11, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    great one

  3. ajpomales February 11, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    I am always impressed by your words, your insite, your honesty, and your great gift for eloquently expressing yourself. You are truly gifted in many ways! Over the years, i have been priveledged to witness yours (and your business’s) growth from afar and have remained truly inspired. Truly wish that i could have done more to help.

    I cant wait to see what the future brings you once your dreams are realized!! πŸ˜‰

  4. jeanne watts February 11, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    I am old enough too have observed Oppenhimer’s endeavors for over 65 years, and I generally disagree with his philosophy. But – hie is right on this point: learning continues over one’s lifeime if one is to survive and thrive.

Leave a Reply

