My 2012 Thus Far:

12 Feb

Other than finishing up school, I have a new Areli Sinclair Spring collection called Moments of Truth. All about the matador inside of all women. With this collection, it was very important to me to tap into what women go through every day. Even the women who look the toughest aren’t always feeling so confident on the inside. Especially when we have important things going on. Each day of a women’s life can be life changing. The deciding factor of whether it is or not has a lot to do with how we feel about ourselves. How we feel we are perceived. I know that when I have an important day ahead of me that I might be feeling a bit anxious about, it makes me feel so much better when I have the perfect outfit picked out, hanging up and ready to go. I put my shoes and any accessories next to it that I have tried on and switched around 10 times. Having my image settled ahead of time lifts my spirit. It gives me the extra boost of confidence and motivation to tackle whatever it is I might be facing that day. With this collection, I made pieces that will easily do just that. I wanted to make clothes that I know I would appreciate myself. Things that can go from day to night.. from work to a date. Clothes that have special details. Elements that let you know there was thought and time put into it. Clothes that make you feel like everyone in the room can see your confidence and personality before you even say a word.

I’ve leaked a few teaser photos on facebook. I did an awesome photo shoot with a great team! Photography was done by Rene Ferrer and Charles Howse. Models were Nadia Timol, Courtney Slayton, Tatiana Kuzmina and myself. I certainly was not planning on modeling at this shoot. I do enjoy it, but I just wanted to stay behind the camera for this one. It just so happened that 2 of the models had to leave early that day, which left yours truly to fill the position. I think it turned out great anyway! Hair and makeup was done by True U, LLC. With hair assistant Katrina Ellis. Another crazy thing happened that day that nearly gave me a heart attack.. We were shooting in a area that was basically an abandoned set of buildings. Two of the girls had to use the restroom. They found that one of the buildings doors were open. They came back out as there was no bathroom inside and went on to look for one. I was just excited about the fact that we found a place to change inside instead of ducking behind a hidden corner of the buildings. So I took some of the clothes in the building as I was preparing to change. I went back outside to grab my shoes. I came back to the door only to find it had bolted shut, with my clothes inside! Not just any clothes either.. one of my main pieces which I had spent hours hand embroidering. The only hope I had was to call the number of the realtor on the poster in the window and hope that they might call back the next day, as it was a Sunday afternoon. Devastated, I attempted to press on and figure out what we might wear next instead. But my enthusiasm was gone. I was so distraught over the thought of not getting to shoot that outfit after planning and prepping for the shoot for over a month. And then he appeared… a construction guy came to the door looking at us like we were crazy waving him down frantically, looking probably quite strange to him in our high fashion hair and makeup! He kindly opened the door for us. He stated that we were lucky considering that no one is ever in the building and that they just so happened to be there fixing something that day. After that relief, my spirits were again lifted and we continued shooting. It was a long day, but worth every bit of stress! The photos came out beautifully and I was so glad to have worked with such a great team!

Four of the outfits from the collection are currently on display at the IADT campus! They will also be shown at Orlando Fashion week (along with a few other surprises) and at the Imagine fashion show!

As far as how I’ve been doing emotionally.. things are good. I think of Areli every day. And there are certain triggers that really send me to particularly heavy moments. Like in a movie when a mother loses her child. Or when I inadvertently put my hand or arm on my waist a certain way. But there are also things that bring smiles. Like when something goes well, I remember that I have the most beautiful angel watching out for me.

I got the logo done for the Areli Sinclair women’s line. The symbol is sort of an abstract angel. I actually drew it for an embroidery design on one of the jackets in the Moments of Truth collection. After looking at it for a while I noticed that it looked like an angel. I fell more in love with the design the more I looked at it and thought about what it meant to me. I also loved the fact that if you didn’t know the story, it just looks like a simple, elegant design. I also did new business cards and flyers- which I’m quite proud of! Photoshop has turned from an enemy to a great friend!

Not much else has been happening.. we unfortunately didn’t go home for Thanksgiving, Christmas or New Years, since I had such a huge amount of schoolwork, among other things. My husband and I had our 6 year anniversary January 17th! I’m so happy to still be with my best friend. Through it all, he’s the only one who has been there for the best and the worst. I’m also getting ready to work on prom dresses for two beautiful young ladies! I’m very excited about it and can’t wait to get started!

My husband and I back in 2004!


Attempting to keep this update short turned out to be just that.. an attempt. But hey, it’s been a while and I left a lot out for time sake- which is also why I did a separate blog for my college thoughts. I will try my best to be updating more frequently now that I’m out of school and will be focusing more on my career. Keep up my friends, it’s all or nothing from here on in!!!
~A. Rozier

Leave a Reply

