Graduation! Someone Bring ME a Trumpet!

9 May

For a while I wasn’t sure if I’d even attend my college graduation. I finished school in early February this year and took my sigh of relief back then. Not doing anything to really commemorate the moment, but simply continuing with my work and making new goals.

But after attending my graduation last Saturday with family and friends, it made me realize how important it is to recognize your own accomplishments.

My mother in law and I at my graduation

Think about the last time you failed at something or didn’t do your absolute best. I’m sure you beat yourself up about it and felt lousy for quite a while. It may have even set you back, even if just in terms of your mindset.

Since fear is one of the strongest emotions in human beings, failures tend to outshine and get more attention than accomplishments. Achieving goals or milestones should give us just as powerful of a feeling.

When you can recognize your accomplishments as well as set backs, you will paint a realistic picture of where you are in life and what the next step should really be.

Last post I mentioned that this is my season of no excuses. Part of that mantra includes not lying to yourself. You’re stronger than you think you are, and when you do things that prove it to yourself, don’t be modest. Harness that feeling of achievement. Think of that feeling the next time you hit a rough patch on the way to reaching your next goal.

Everyone’s path to their own personal best will be different. Your best chance of reaching your destination will be knowing the traveler (yourself) and the terrain (path/opportunities/direction) as well as possible.

Now everyone, raise your trumpets an march onward!

~A. Rozier

Leave a Reply

