How to dye your hair pink! The pink hair that changed my life!

5 Mar

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 5.30.39 PM

In the last year of college when I was almost done with my master’s degree, I decided I wanted pink/purple hair. So I did it! I felt great! Like the spark of life on the inside was shown on the outside. Being a fashion designer/stylist, crazy cuts and colors are something that I see all the time, even if just within the industry. So I felt like I found something that was sort of a happy medium between the professional world and the creative world. I mean, red is a natural color.. and pink is only a few shades off from that right? Well, apparently not to everyone!

The video is detailing how I got the color, read on for how it changed my life!

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 5.30.04 PM

Well, after college I took a job in an upscale boutique. At that time I was in one of my “let it fade and grow” stages that I talk about in the video, so it was not the bright pink it is now. Well, about 3 months into the job, I felt that it had faded and grown enough to bleach and dye. So I did. WHOA, did I cause a stir at the office! Not only with the higher ups, but the well-to-do customers as well. Some thought it was fun and “something they would do if they were my age”. Others… I thought I was going to have to scrape their jaws off the floor and knock their eyes beck in their head.

I was offered to color my hair back to dark at the expense of the company… and when I respectfully declined explaining the amount of time and effort that was put into getting it this way.. I was all but threatened to change it OR…?

It was when I was uninvited to a client’s holiday party, not by the client, but by my boss, that I knew my best interest would always come second to my hair. I had made a dress to wear to that party. I had my postcards and business cards for my clothing line in hand, bringing my things in to get ready when I was turned around and sent home.

It came to a point of whether I was going to change myself and feel more miserable than I already did, or quit and be myself.

Now that it has been over a month since I have been gone, I have styled a music video, taken on several clients, designed a custom reception dress and junior bride dress for next month, and am working on my own Areli Sinclair collection.

Long story short, being myself, even when everyone was telling me I shouldn’t be, increased my self confidence and motivation 10 fold.

Without early adaptors, nothing would change. Without individual style, what would be the point of art or fashion? I for one do not want a boring world. I love art. I love color. And I love being able to be. Just be.

Screen Shot 2014-03-05 at 5.30.25 PM

xo,

A.Roze

Leave a comment